Arkansas CNA and HHA Certification Requirements State of Arkansas (AR)

by admin on July 3, 2019

Requirements for CNA and HHA Certification

HHAs are entry level nurse aides in Arkansas. They do not need licensing to work, though many medical establishments require that they be certified as a CNA (not necessarily state-certified, but certified by their training academies). In addition, Medicaid and Medicare-certified home health agencies and long term care establishments require that the CNA be state certified.

In Arkansas, you can become a CNA simply by passing the certification exam at the academy or school where you took your classes and practical training. If you want to become a state-certified CAN (for work in Medicare or Medicaid-certified long term care establishments or agencies), you need to qualify and sit for the exam given by the Office of Long Term Care as well. Only state certified CNAs can work in Medicare or Medicaid-certified establishments, such as nursing homes and other.

Note: Fed regulations require certified aides who work in Medicare or Medicaid-reimbursed facilities to accumulate 12 hours of continuing education per 12 month period.

We list the higher between Federal (Fed) and State requirements

Requirements CNA HHA
Work Eligibility Must be citizen, or someone eligible to work in the U.S. (green card holder, or a foreign national with a work permit). Same requirements by employer.
Type of Certification You get listed on the State Nurse Aide Registry; the state issues certificates, and employers can verify them online. No certification required until you are ready for the CNA exam.
Application Form A filled application form is required together with all supplemental information, such as training diplomas and proof of eligibility to work in the U.S., fingerprint cards, photo ID and 2 photos. N/A
Age No age minimum is imposed. Most employers will require a minimum of 18 y.o.a.
Driver’s License No license is required by law, although most employers will require it. Employer requirements apply
Education Level You will not be required to produce a high school diploma or GED. Most employers will require a high school diploma.
Training hours & where Required: the Fed 75 hours of classes at state-accredited establishments (including nursing homes). Employer requirements apply
Competence Training 100 hours of clinical rotation required; apart from 16 hours of those that have to be accomplished in school, the other hours can be obtained from on-the-job RN-supervised work. N/A
Experience No prior professional experience required. None required
Health Immunizations A negative TB test taken within 6 months and proof of immunization. Employer requirements apply
Fingerprints 2 Fingerprints cards have to be submitted to facilitate background checks. Employer requirements apply
Background checks State and Federal background checks will be required before certification. Employer requirements apply
Other Requirements Photo ID and 2 photos Employer requirements apply
Licensed in another state? Those who have an active CNA certification in another state, and who have been employed within the last year, should contact The Office of Long Term Care (501-682-1807) about reciprocity eligibility requirements. If you are licensed in another state as a CNA, then the same applies.
Exam It is referred to as the Certified Nursing Assistant Exam and given by the Office of Long Term Care;

It includes written as well as well as practical components.

N/A until you are ready for the CNA exam.

Previous post:

Next post: