California CNA and HHA Certification Requirements
State of California (CA)
Requirements for CNA and HHA Certification
Unlike many other states, California has a significant role for both HHAs and CNAs. Further, to assure the availability of trained personnel in skilled nursing and intermediate care facilities, the Legislature intends that all such facilities in this state participate in approved training programs.
When it comes to licensing and certification of healthcare facilities, there is an overlap between the California Department of Public Health (CDPH), the Licensing and Certification Program (L&C), and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).
And while L&C oversees the certification of nurse assistants (CNAs), home health aides (HHAs), and Hemodialysis Technicians (CHTs), it is specifically, the Aide and Technician Certification Section (ATCS), CNA/HHA/CHT Certification Unit, which is primarily in charge of the certification of Nurse Assistants and Home Health Aides.
(The first link below is for an application form, while the second lists services and requirements).
Note: Fed regulations require certified aides who work in Medicare or Medicaid-reimbursed facilities to accumulate 12 hours of continuing education per 12 month period.
We list the higher between Federal (Fed) and State requirements
|Work Eligibility||Fed regulation: must be a citizen, national, or someone eligible to work in the U.S.; must produce social security number.||same|
|Type of Certification||The accredited school issues a CNA certificate, after which you sit for the state exam and become state-certified.||A minimum of 75 hours of training in an accredit school.|
|Application Form||A filled application form is required together with all supplemental information, such as high school and training diplomas and proof of eligibility to work as described above (link to application form provided below).||Same|
|Age||Must be at least 16 years of age||same|
|Driver's License||Employer requirements apply.||Employer requirements apply|
|Education Level||No limitations on education.||same|
|Training hours & where||60 accredited hours, of which at least 2 hours to be devoted to assisting persons with mental disabilities, and at least one hour for instruction regarding patients’ rights and responsibilities.||75 accredited hours of training.|
|Competence Training||100 hours of on-the-job continuing education, of which at least six hours to be devoted to the detection and reporting of abuse of persons receiving care in long term care facilities.||16 hours of on-the-job RN-supervised orientation.|
|Experience||No prior professional experience required.||None required|
|Health Immunizations||The place of learning will require a negative TB test taken within 6 months and proof of immunization.||same|
|Fingerprints||Fingerprinting will be required.||same|
|Background Checks||State and Fed criminal records will be obtained.||same|
|Other Requirements||Certificates expire after 24 months (on the holder’s birth date) and need to be renewed.||same|
|Licensed in another state?||Full reciprocity: produce a current license from another state that has the same training prerequisites and sit for the state competence exam.||same|
|Exam||There is not state exam for CNAs or HHAs. When licensed by the accredited learning school and upon providing other documentation 9such as background check) the State Department will issue a certificate.||same|