Florida CNA and HHA Certification Requirements State of Florida (FL)

by admin on July 3, 2019

Requirements for CNA and HHA Certification

Florida does not have state licensing or certification for HHAs. There is no state law that requires that HHAs be certified. HHAs may work independently in people’s homes, or they may work for state-licensed agencies.

For them to work for an agency, they must have at least 40 hours of accredited training. For them to work for a Medicare or Medicaid-certified agency, they must have 75 hours of training, plus 2 hours of training on HIV/AIDS. In both these cases, the HHA must also pass a competency test.

Both HHAs working for establishments that accept Medicaid as well as CNAs must undergo 12 hours of in-services every 12 months. These are RN-supervised and documented training sessions that include HIV/AIDS, HIV/AIDS, Infection Control, CPR, Patients’ rights and responsibilities, documentation, and lessons on safety.

Note: Fed regulations require certified aides who work in Medicare or Medicaid-reimbursed facilities to accumulate 12 hours of continuing education per 12 month period.

We list the higher between Federal (Fed) and State requirements

Requirements CNA HHA
Work Eligibility Fed regulation: must be a citizen, national, or someone eligible to work in the U.S.;  must produce social security number. same
Type of Certification The accredited school issues a CNA certificate, after which you sit for the state exam and become state-certified. This certificate expires and needs to be renewed every 24 months. There is no registry in Florida for HHAs.
Application Form A filled application form is required together with all supplemental information, such as high school and training diplomas and proof of eligibility to work as described above (link to application form provided below). same
Age Must be at least 16 years of age. same
Driver’s License Employer requirements apply. Employer requirements apply.
Education Level No limitations on education. same
Training hours & where FL allows you to “challenge” the Board and just sit for the exam. They prefer however that you take 75 accredited hours, plus I hour of in-service for every month that you are certified. 40 accredited hours of training to perform personal tasks.
Competence Training 12 hours/year of on-the-job continuing education, devoted to the topics listed above. N/A
Experience No prior professional experience required. None required
Health Immunizations The place of learning will require a negative TB test taken within 6 months and proof of immunization. Up to employer
Fingerprints Fingerprinting will be required. Up to employer
Background checks State background checks for Floridian CNAs and FBI checks for out-of-state applicants. Up to employer
Other Requirements Certificates expire after 24 months (on the 31st of December) and need to be renewed. N/A
Licensed in another state? Full reciprocity: produce a current license from another state and you may “challenge” the Board of Nursing and just sit for the state competence exam. N/A
Exam There is a state exam for CNAs, consisting of written and practical tests. The written part lists a number of multiple choice questions. N/A


  • Annette Ramadan

    Where can I receive Home Health Aide Training in Bonita Springs or Fort Myers and the cost?

  • Tamona

    Where can I get a copy of my florida hha certification?

  • Sean

    http://www.floridahhaonline.com helped me a lot when getting my hha certification in Florida.

  • Mazincia Blanc

    Go to https://floridatrainingcenter.org/home-health-aide-training-program/
    There training only $275. And they also get you a Job when you are done.

  • April Smith

    What if you are trying to become an HHA to care for a parent? How does that work?

Previous post:

Next post: