Louisiana CNA and HHA Certification Requirements State of Louisiana (LA)

by admin on July 3, 2019

Requirements for CNA and HHA Certification

 

Louisiana (LA) is definitely more oriented towards CNAs than HHAs. CNAs are required to work, at least, 8 hours during every 2-year period after certified. In order to maintain their certification, the 8 hours must include “nursing or nurse related” duties in approved settings such as nursing homes, hospitals, home health agencies, personal care attendant agencies, and other establishments where nursing skills are required.

A CNA certified in another state who wishes to transfer that certification to Louisiana must complete a reciprocity form (link provided below).

It is difficult to find an authoritative description of the nursing classes required by the Department of Health in order to sit for the state exam. After being certified by an accredited school or academy, CNAs then sit for the state exam which has both a written as well as a skills test components. CNAs are thus advised to select a course that has a high number of hours, in case they wish to transfer at some point to another jurisdiction.

Note: Fed regulations require certified aides who work in Medicare or Medicaid-reimbursed facilities to accumulate 12 hours of continuing education per 12 month period.

We list the higher between Federal (Fed) and State requirements

Requirements CNA HHA
Work Eligibility Must be a citizen, national, or someone eligible to work in the U.S.;  must produce social security number (these are Fed requirements). same
Type of Certification First a school certification, followed by State certification (but only if you wish to work somewhere where Medicaid or Medicare reimbursement applies). N/A
Application Form A filled application form is required together with  supplemental information, such as high school and training diplomas, proof of work eligibility, fingerprint cards, photo ID, and 2 photos. N/A
Age You must be at least 16 years old. same
Driver’s License A driver’s license is not required. Employer requirements apply.
Education Level High school diploma is required. Employer requirements apply.
Training hours & where In the absence of state regulations, Fed regulations apply: a minimum of 75 accredited hours of training, plus a different number of practical training, depending on the accredited school (if they are accredited, it means their program is accepted). Same (be advised that training programs and number of hours differs from one school to the other).
Competence Training Different programs in each school (on average over 20 hours of practical). Same (see note above)
Experience No prior professional experience required. If not licensed, most agencies/employers will require you to have worked professionally for one year to be listed as a “companion”.
Health Immunizations A negative TB test taken within 6 months and proof of immunization. Employer requirements apply.
Fingerprints 2 Fingerprints cards will be required (blanks provided with application form). same
Background checks State and Fed checks will be required. same
Other Requirements Social security number must be produced; Photo ID and two photos. same
Licensed in another state? The state honors reciprocity (view notes above). same
Exam It is referred to as the State Nurse Aide Certification Exam, and it is given in two parts, one written, the other a skills test. N/A

 

Previous post:

Next post: