Michigan CNA and HHA Certification Requirements
State of Michigan (MI)
Requirements for CNA and HHA Certification
This is how the State of Michigan describes their HHAs: “Home Health Aides, also known as Homemaker-Home Health Aides, provide personal and homemaking services to ill, convalescing, elderly, and disabled persons and, if needed, to their families. Home Health Aides usually perform their duties in the patients' homes.”
By contrast, “A Nurse Aide is defined as any individual providing nursing or nursing-related services to residents in a long term care facility.” That makes the CNA a step above the HHA in terms of seniority in MI, as long term care facility implies an environment of skilled nursing, including hospitals, rehab centers, and assisted living facilities.
It is the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA), Bureau of Health Professions that is in charge of certifications. Federal Rules & Regulations apply (75 hours of training, to include at least 16 hours of practical training). A company (contractor) called Prometric maintains the nurse aide registry.
Note: Fed regulations require certified aides who work in Medicare or Medicaid-reimbursed facilities to accumulate 12 hours of continuing education per 12 month period.
We list the higher between Federal (Fed) and State requirements
|Work Eligibility||Must be a citizen or someone eligible to work in the U.S.; must produce a social security number.||same|
|Type of Certification||Prometric issues certificates (see note above); you also get listed on the Nurse Aide Registry, and employers can verify your certification online; you have to renew every 24 months.||HHAs do not get state-certified; their academic training gives them a diploma.|
|Application Form||Once you finish your training, you have 12 months to sit for the state exam in two parts, written, and skills.||HHAs do not sit for the exam.|
|Age||There is no age requirement.||N/A|
|Driver's License||No driver’s license required as long as you can produce a photo ID.||same|
|Education Level||High school diploma not required.||same|
|Training hours & where||A minimum of 75 accredited hours of training, of which 16 hours are in clinical or practical work (renewals every 24 months, after doing 12 hours of in-service training every 12 months).||same|
|Competence Training||A minimum of 16 hours (see note above).||same|
|Experience||No prior professional experience required.||1 year of professional work is required by non-medical home care agencies.|
|Health Immunizations||A negative TB test taken within 6 months and proof of immunization.||same|
|Fingerprints||2 Fingerprint cards will be required for background check.||same|
|Background checks||Applicants must undergo state and FBI background checks.||same|
|Other Requirements||Social security number must be produced; Photo ID and two photos; immunization results; completed application form together with money order.||Employer requirements apply.|
|Licensed in another state?||MI offers reciprocity if you are transferring from another state with an equivalent curriculum, and a current and unburdened license.||same|
|Exam||After finishing the 75 accredited hours of training, you sit for a written and a practical exam monitored by the state-contracted Prometric.||N/A|